Best answer: When was the biggest earthquake in Thailand?

The damaged Wat Rong Khun, a major attraction in Mueang, Chiang Rai; The broken spire could be observed
USGS-ANSS ComCat
Local date May 5, 2014
Local time 18:08:43 ICT (UTC+7)
Magnitude 6.1 Mw (USGS)

When was the last earthquake in Thailand?

Latest earthquakes in Thailand (past month)

Date and time Mag Depth Map
9 Aug 2021 2:26 am (GMT +7) (8 Aug 2021 19:26:13 GMT) 2 days ago 1.7 3 km Map
9 Aug 2021 1:36 am (GMT +6:30) (8 Aug 2021 19:06:51 GMT) 2 days ago 2.3 5 km Map
8 Aug 2021 10:51 pm (GMT +6:30) (8 Aug 2021 16:21:50 GMT) 2 days ago 1.9 1 km Map

How often are Thailand earthquakes?

Over the past 40 years, Thailand has experienced mid-sized earthquakes (magnitudes 5.0-5.9) 8 times or once every 5 years.

How many tsunamis have hit Thailand?

In a total of 2 tidal waves classified as a tsunami since 2004 a total of 8,212 people died in Thailand.

What are the latest earthquakes?

USGS Magnitude 2.5+ Earthquakes, Past Day

  • 66 km S of Shungnak, Alaska. …
  • 66 km S of Sola, Vanuatu. …
  • 80 km W of Tobelo, Indonesia. …
  • 15 km SSW of Leilani Estates, Hawaii. …
  • 6 km WSW of Týrnavos, Greece. …
  • 225 km SE of Attu Station, Alaska. …
  • 23 km SSE of Golovin, Alaska. …
  • 70 km ESE of Nemuro, Japan. 2021-08-08 02:37:32 (UTC-07:00) 74.6 km.

Can Thailand get earthquakes?

Earthquakes. Northern Thailand can be subject to earthquakes and tremors of varying magnitude. The Earthquake Track website lists recent seismic activity.

FASCINATINGLY:  How much is WIFI in the Philippines?

Is there a volcano in Thailand?

are there any volcanoes in Thailand. There are no active volcanoes in Thailand but there are some extinct volcanoes the biggest one being in Buriram in Phanom Rung historical park.

Keep Calm and Travel